Skip to content

Last distraction

April 21, 2008
by

As if I didn’t learn my lesson by piddling away a week knitting teeny socks, I did the same thing this week with more Cat Bordhi. I ran across her first Treasury of Magical Knitting at the library and decided I wanted to see how she makes a moebius.

The technique was really interesting and I’m glad I learned how to do it. I think the drawback of it is, you have no idea what you’ve made till you bind off. The stitches are coiled up around the circular cable, so you don’t know how long the darn thing is going to be. Now, I know, you are supposed to know exactly your gauge and exactly how many stitches you cast on, so you should know how long it’s going to be. Ha ha. Very funny. Nothing I knew in advance about worsted weight yarn and size 7 needles and me would have led me to expect this thing would be 48 inches around.

Also, I have not one, not two, but three twists in this thing. I suppose it would have been possible to detect this after I did my cast-on.

The cast-on itself is clever and fun, it’s a little like Judy’s magic cast-on. The resulting item is an ugly mess and I think I will just throw it away.

I did finish one Marilinda sock.

I’m pretty happy with how it came out. I added one extra pattern repeat on the leg to get a little extra length.

I love how the pattern comes down the heel flap.

I didn’t have too much time to spin this weekend but I’m working on another skein from my cormo fleece from last year. After struggling with flicked locks for awhile and not being happy with the resulting yarn, I decided to try combing. One pass through the two-row combs is just enough to organize this and clean out the neps.

I can’t get over the feeling that I’m generating waste where there should be none, but I have a ton of fleece, and this combed top makes a much nicer yarn. Don’t you just want to take a nap in that??

Lily and Toby say: “Nap? sounds great!”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2008 12:05 pm

    I do want to take a nap in that cloud of Cormo you have there! It’s interesting that you are able to get rid of the neps with one pass through the double row combs. That’s what I used and I had neps galore. I probably should try a different Cormo fleece to see if I can get some better results. The amount of waste I had was phenomenal.
    I love Lily and Toby’s green eyes. It looks like they’re real snuggle buddies.

  2. April 21, 2008 1:12 pm

    Your moebius loop is a nice colour! I have made one by mistake plenty of times. The socks are pretty and the yarn looks so soft.

  3. May 5, 2008 2:05 pm

    Oh, Moebius! I have given it quite a bit of thought, and I think it’s very intriguing, and the different ways to make it are very interesting, but I always end up with the same question: What do you do with a twisted piece of knitting? πŸ˜€ I might also try it just to see how it works, but I don’t plan on using one of my finest yarns for it. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

