Skip to content

Overload

May 5, 2008
by

This:

and this:

and this:

are mine.

Whee! I was pretty thrilled. Bee Fields was in the shawls, scarves, and afghans from commercial yarns category, the white cormo 3-ply was in the medium plyed yarn from hand-prepared wool category, and the rainbow silk/merino was in the plyed yarn from commercial fiber category.
Emmy was delighted too and she kept making me tell people all day.

I was so befuddled by this that I neglected to take photos of some of the other lovely things in the competition exhibit – the fair isle cardigan in shades of purple that won best in show, the circular lace shawl that won best knitted item in show, or the beautiful laceweight that won a blue ribbon.

(UPDATE: Here is link to a photo of the best-in-show cardigan.)

I neglected to take photos of a lot of things. This was the first year that Emily was with me on the hoof and she was content to be there pretty much all day, so we looked at sheep dogs working and we watched sheep judging. She ate cotton candy while I looked at fleece.

My shopping goals were very small and I met them.

I visited my LYS, which is under new ownership and this year took a focus on indie dyers for the festival. They had all the stuff you hear about all the time and don’t get to see in person – Sweet Sheep, A Verb for Keeping Warm, Ceyberfiber, Neighborhood Fiber…. So I bought things from them.

On top, two ounces of indigo-dyed bluefaced leicester from A Verb for Keeping Warm. In the middle, a skein of sock yarn from The Sweet Sheep in a colorway called Surf, which made me think of the colors of snoballs. At the bottom, a skein of sock yarn from the Neighborhood Fiber Company – they name their colorways after neighborhoods in Washington DC and the one I happened to pick up was called ‘Mount Pleasant’ which is a neighborhood I lived in once upon a time. Cheers to Jolene and Jody for putting together an extremely appealing booth!

We were at the Ravelry meetup for 15 minutes, and met Jess and Casey coming in as we were running out to make a dash to swimming class – Emily actually pushed me to return, so we came back in the afternoon and got into the t-shirt line which was much shorter. While standing there, I saw there was no longer a line at The Fold to pay for Socks That Rock, so I made a dash to see if they had any skeins left of the colorway I had fallen in love with the first time I saw it, and they did. Rock Star:

We paid a second visit to the fleeces and this time I noticed a little bag stuck back in the corner among all the brazillion Romneys and Lincolns and Border Leicesters – the label said ‘CVM X’ which was enough to get me to open the bag having just recently spun 8 ounces of nice CVM.
The fleece was very interesting – a bigger crimp than I expected from CVM and not as soft, with a little luster and very white outside of the dirty tips, and a nice healthy staple of about 4 inches. Inside the bag was this:

A washed lock, a spun sample, a photo of the sheep, and more about her. Arianna is 4 years old, her mother was a CVM ewe and her father was a bluefaced leicester/coopworth cross ram. Interesting! The shepherd felt there were too many second cuts in the fleece so she had priced it down. I took it out and a volunteer rolled it out for me and looked it over and she said that it could not have been skirted better and that she didn’t see many second cuts. Arianna was $35 for 5 pounds, so she came home with me. Well, actually, she only came with me as far as the Zeilinger’s dropoff tent, and I will see her again sometime about July 1. The guy taking the fleeces said this was one of the more interesting things he had seen come in. I think it will have a crisp hand, sort of like a medium corriedale, and would make a good jacket, and maybe a bit of nice firm-bodied laceweight.

Bumper sticker of the day:

I would have a runner up bumper sticker of the day but I was trying to take a photo of it while following the car up the on ramp of route 70 which didn’t work out so well. To the people in the little silver car with the Louet box in the back and the “Make gloves, not war” bumper sticker – sorry if I freaked you out, but I liked your bumper sticker…

There was knitting done over the past two weeks. I finishedthe Marilinda socks in the middle of last week.

The Classic Elite Alpaca Sox makes a very warm soft sock that will not get worn until cool weather. The pattern is lovely. I added one pattern repeat to the leg, which meant that I was off ever after on which row had the little fake cable motif, but it was easy to keep track.

I made one pair of Fetching mitts for teacher gifts and started on another.

I got up past the motif on the front of the Gathered Pullover and then divided fronts from back. I will raise the neckline a little as it is just too low for me, and also not open it so wide. I saw a photo on someone’s blog of a person wearing this and I felt bad for her – it was beautifully knitted but the shoulders were just too wide and it was falling down awkwardly and looking uncomfortable. I won’t take that risk.

I think I will try knitting the sleeves top-down to be sure I have enough yarn. I have never changed a set-in sleeve to be knit top down, this will be an adventure.

I also made a little hand towel out of a stray ball of Knit Picks Cotlin.

Wow, I loved this yarn. Especially after it came out of the washer and dryer. It did shrink up just a small amount, but it plumped up and got soft, instead of hard like regular cotton does. I have to make a summer sweater out of this.

At the end of the weekend, after all was said and done, we had this:

“Teach me to knit.” Maybe soon we will have the other sweetest four words in the world: “Ssssh Mom I’m counting!”

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2008 1:10 pm

    I thought I recognized that as your Beefields! πŸ™‚
    But when I looked at the tag I didn’t see a name on it to confirm, and I didn’t want to get in trouble for twisting it all around and pulling on the lace.
    Congrats on the ribbons, and the “teach me to knit”!

  2. May 5, 2008 1:11 pm

    Congratulations on all counts! I didn’t know you’d placed on your yarns, too!
    You definitely have a color theme going… All very pretty stuff.
    That fleece sounds great. Ahh, spring! I get to pick my processed fleeces up on Saturday, can’t wait!

  3. May 5, 2008 2:11 pm

    Thank you for posting about your adventures! It was almost like being there…almost, but not quite. I’m very excited for you about all your yummy purchases. The best shot though was Emmy’s learning to knit picture. Wow, that is so neat! I hope it is something fun that you can do with her, the two of you together! My mom taught me at about that age, about 5. I think it took me a long while to figure out purling and do it consistently, but by about 8? I had it all down. Emmy is bound to be faster at it than I was!

  4. May 5, 2008 2:12 pm

    I have a t-shirt to match that bumper sticker – love it.
    http://www.goats.com/store/item/sticker_rfv-1.html

  5. May 5, 2008 5:55 pm

    Congrats on all your ribbons! Love the sort of stop action pic of Emmy at the fleece sale. It sort of feels like the world stops when you have the opportunity to stick your nose in a fleece.
    And, how nice that Emmy wanted to learn to knit. Bet she wants to be just like her Mommy and get all kinds of ribbons, too.

  6. May 5, 2008 8:41 pm

    Congratulations! on the ribbons and on your new knitter. I didn’t get to go this year, so it’s lovely to read all about it.
    Wish I had been there to see your shawl, it really looks lovely. May Emmy have many happy years of creating ahead of her.

  7. May 5, 2008 10:08 pm

    That last picture is a heartwarming sight! It’s wonderful that your love of fiber has rubbed off, and it’s wonderful that Emmy is so proud of your accomplishments. You’re a great mamma.
    Congratulations on the ribbons. You deserve them. Your knitting and spinning are wonderful.

  8. May 5, 2008 10:10 pm

    Big congratulations on the ribbons AND the beginning knitter. Seems like it was one of those perfect weekends.

  9. May 6, 2008 2:57 am

    Well done on the fabulous ribbons, what a great day!

  10. May 6, 2008 7:39 am

    you saved the best for last πŸ™‚

  11. May 11, 2008 11:28 am

    Congratulations on the ribbons! And I hope your daughter follows in your fibery footsteps! πŸ™‚

  12. Sam permalink
    May 11, 2008 2:55 pm

    Late to the comment party this week, but CONGRATULATIONS ON EVERYTHING!!! I’m so very pleased for you – all well deserved. Can’t wait to see you and Emmy entering together some year. πŸ™‚

  13. Ahrisha inPA permalink
    May 11, 2008 8:13 pm

    Congratulations on your ribbons! I touched your shawl. . .shhhhhh, Don’t tell. I just had to open it up and get a better look. Sweet job!
    What a great weekend it was.

Leave a Reply

