Skip to content

It isn’t yarn anymore

May 27, 2008
by

That is my odd sentiment on finishing the Gathered Pullover with my handspun bluefaced leicester. It isn’t pretty skeins anymore.

Of course, I made a couple of changes. I raised the neckline and made it narrower – I saw a photo somewhere of someone wearing her Gathered Pullover over a blouse and it was totally falling off her shoulders, it really didn’t look all that nice, so I wanted to avoid that. I also knitted the sleeves top-down, as I described the other week. The shoulders fit well. I knitted too long before starting to do decreases, so from certain angles the shape of the sleeves is a little funny, but they won’t bind on my elbows and upper arms and that was my biggest concern. They came out about bracelet length which is fine with me.

The most important thing for me was to be sure that the center of the cable motif, and the decreases that went with it, fell at the right location. I think if I had followed the vertical dimensions of the pattern, they would have fallen too high and just looked goofy on me. So I tried to be sure that I placed them just below the bustline so they would cinch in the right place like a Georgian empire waist. I came pretty close.

When I was done I had this much yarn left.

I was VERY fond of this yarn. Here’s a reminder.

Sigh. Yarn is like the ball at the top of the hill – so much potential energy. A knitted object is like the ball at the bottom of the hill – the only thing you can do to get its potential energy back is push it up the hill (i.e. frog it).

OK enough of the tortured analogy. I finished my blue socks too.

They came out great. I’ve started the ‘master Riverbed’ pattern from the same book, I’m just at the point where I’m rearranging all the stitches to make the heel. Once I’ve turned the heel I will know if my master numbers math was right or if I need to frog the whole thing and try again. Rolling the ball up the hill…

17 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2008 8:33 am

    You sound so sad about the sweater, but it’s beautiful! I know, those skeins of yarn sometimes feel like pets, don’t they?

  2. May 27, 2008 9:30 am

    That looks great! Your handspun is fabulous. Gorgeous colors, and it looks so even and soft.

  3. Katinka permalink
    May 27, 2008 10:21 am

    I wouldn’t have thought to make the Gathered Pullover in a striped yarn, but yours looks amazing — what pretty yarn!

  4. Jody permalink
    May 27, 2008 10:37 am

    Wow you really love blue!! That sweater looks pretty on you…you are nice and slim. I luv reading your blog. Lots of great pics.

  5. May 27, 2008 11:08 am

    I love that sweater! It is SO pretty! The socks are nice too. :o)

  6. May 27, 2008 12:00 pm

    Don’t you dare frog it!!! It’s perfect. I know what you mean though. I started and finished a whole project over the weekend, and I’m feeling a little lost!

  7. May 27, 2008 12:55 pm

    You did such a great job matching up the stripes on the sleeves!

  8. May 27, 2008 2:31 pm

    I know just how you feel about finishing this sweater. It looks fabulous on you, you did a great job, but still–there is sadness on finishing a project…especially if you loved the yarn. There’s this bit of advice that says something like: The spinning technique should flatter the fiber so that it looks even better as yarn than it did as fiber. The knitting/weaving/crochet (whatever) technique should make the yarn look even better as a finished project. The person inside the garment should make the project perfect looking…and etc. Sometimes, at the end of a project, I just want to go back to the fiber. It happens. I think your sweater does glorify the fiber and yarn…and you look great in it. Hopefully the sadness will dissipate.

  9. May 27, 2008 3:52 pm

    Oh Caroline! Another perfect fit, and could the striping have worked any better? I think not. You’ve put the cables in the perfect location. It’s beautiful.
    The handspun is so perfect. If you print a picture of it, you can have your yarn and wear it too.

  10. May 27, 2008 5:29 pm

    lovely sweater!

  11. May 28, 2008 2:37 am

    Your sweater looks lovely, amazing handspun and colours. Don’t frog it!

  12. May 28, 2008 7:16 am

    You could always spin more!

  13. May 29, 2008 6:16 am

    The sweater is amnazing!!! It isn’t yarn anymore but it is more wearable now;-)

  14. May 31, 2008 1:47 pm

    Your sweater (and the yarn) are beautiful!

  15. June 1, 2008 5:11 pm

    Wonderful! You must have been sweating bullets as you neared the end of that last skein!
    And the socks are fabulous too!

  16. Sam permalink
    June 3, 2008 11:16 am

    Aw, Caroline, that came out just great! Love the placement of the cable, but I do understand how you feel. Still, now you get to keep that pretty skein with you all day, every time you wear that beauty. Lovely, lovely job. 🙂

  17. June 4, 2008 3:57 pm

    Them’s is some very pretty FO’s!

Leave a Reply

