Skip to content

Summer’s here

June 16, 2008
by

These socks look very summery, too bad I can’t wear them till fall!

The colorway is from Sweet Sheep and it’s called ‘Surf’s Up’ – it reminds me of the neon colors of snoballs. The photo just doesn’t capture the intensity of these colors.

This was based on the ‘Master Riverbed’ pattern from Cat Bordhi’s New Pathways book. In this photo you can see the increases on the sole.

I could have made them taller, but I didn’t feel like increasing any more to fit, so I just threw on a linen-stitch cuff and quit.

The next sock architecture I decided to try was ‘Cedar,’ because I wanted to make another top-down sock with that snug arch fit. After some dithering I decided on the ‘Veil of Leaves’ pattern, and because I just HAD to, I wound up my dyeing fiasco yarn. It looks like the dog’s breakfast but I just can’t stop, I’m morbidly fascinated.

I’m at the arch expansion now, we’ll see whether I can stand this much longer.

I am working on ‘Garnet’ from an Elsebeth Lavold collection, in Noro Lily, and I’ve finished the back.

I’m knitting this at a much tighter gauge than the label calls for, because I’ve used this yarn before and I know it tends to sag, so I’m making two sizes larger than I ordinarily would. It is a little hard on my hands but I think it will look nice.

I started the other weekend spinning up some Colonial top I’ve had in stash for several years. It is a pretty dark blue with green and red through it, but it is just not spinning nicely. Maybe it’s sat around too long, but it is not drafting evenly and I’m afraid I won’t like the yarn. We’ll get a bobbin done sometime soon and see what it’s like. It has just been too hot and sticky to spin much.

Unfortunately, none of these projects is inspiring me and making me thrilled to sit and knit. But I want them all to be done so I can use them….

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2008 9:21 am

    I am spinning fairly regularly right now. At night when we watch t.v. when the apt is cool and the air is on 🙂

  2. June 16, 2008 10:53 am

    I love the sole of those socks, I might have a look at that book now I have seen them!

  3. June 16, 2008 12:45 pm

    Garnet looks cool and crisp. I’m enjoying your sock experiments. You’ll have to let us know which architecture you like the best. The colours in the Colonial top are beautiful.

  4. June 16, 2008 8:15 pm

    I love your Garnet, too. Changing the gauge looks like it was a good choice.

Leave a Reply

