Skip to content

The dog’s breakfast

June 23, 2008
by

One of my weird Veil of Leaves socks is finished. It really is a sight.

The yarn is fairly soft and makes an elastic fabric. The colors – well, let’s just say that they are unusual.

This pattern is the ‘Cedar’ sock architecture, it spreads the increases for the arch all around the foot instead of concentrating them in one or two places. There are only two actual increase rows, and they each increase 7 stitches evenly spaced around. Then, you increase another handful of stitches all at once in the gusset areas right before you turn the heel. I think that makes for a sock that is too baggy around the back of the ankle. I think this architecture would feel better to me if the increases were in two lines down the side of the foot from the anklebone.

The cobblestone cuff is a nice elastic top but boy it takes forever to knit it! You cast on a total of 144 stitches (for my sock gauge) using the magic caston, 72 on each needle, and knit in rounds as if this was a huge fat toe until you’ve done 3 or 4 rounds, then instead of turning that wedge into a circle and increasing for your toe, you knit the two rows of stitches together to close up this little tube, then join it into the round and you have a 72 stitch cuff. It is hard to describe but very elegant, although time-consuming.

You absolutely HAVE to do it on two circular needles, too. If you try to do it on 2 DPNs you will make yourself NUTS and waste an hour before you go back and start over on circulars. The 72 stitches are so long that you need a curve, and you can get that if one side of your tube is on the cable of a circular needle.

I am keeping on with Garnet, I have part of the front knit with the leaf panel up the center.

With the smaller gauge, the leaves don’t stand out as much, but the fabric is nice.

Since I don’t have much knitting, here’s a cat.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2008 12:42 pm

    Very pretty stuff! And a cute kitty pic too. What could be better? πŸ™‚

  2. June 23, 2008 3:24 pm

    The sock architecture is fascinating – thanks for the heads up on the cast on. Garnet looks very pretty. Nothing can ever look as comforatble as a sleeping kitty.

  3. June 24, 2008 11:42 am

    I love the blues in that sock, really nice and bright.

  4. June 24, 2008 2:53 pm

    The cat is so lovely !!! And the sock is beautiful.

  5. June 26, 2008 1:53 pm

    I love the New Pathways sock! Fabulous! I am currently working on the “baby socks” and learning how to do it all –
    Love the kitty shot – he’s so sweet.

  6. June 29, 2008 5:59 pm

    The Garnet is coming along nicely, I love the lacey leaves in the middle. I keep saying it, but I really have got to try knitting a pair of socks!!! Love the cat, but I’m allergic so I have a ferret instead. πŸ™‚ He’s alot like a kitten that never outgrows the kitten stage. πŸ™‚

  7. June 29, 2008 6:02 pm

    LOL, not sure what it is but when I type my link on your page I always get something wrong the first time ;P. I meant to ask about the pattern for the rose lace scarf too. Was that your own pattern? How did your entries fair?

Leave a Reply

