Skip to content

Where have I been?

July 6, 2008

I don’t know. I must have taken a wrong turn in Ravelry and couldn’t find my way back.
Cooper says “Mommy, are you in there?”

I’ve been knitting baby sweaters and many, many soakers. This one is knit side to side all in one piece with short row shaping for the yoke and cuffs. The yarn is Dream in Color Smooshy in the Blue Lagoon colourway. The pattern is in Baby Styles by Beehive, bought decades ago but still available.

This is the Leaf Lace sweater, an old family favourite, from Paton’s #111 Nursery Styles for 3 to 12 Months by Beehive. It’s knit in Louet Gems fingering yarn (2 skeins).

I don’t have any pictures of the soakers. They’ve been put to use as soon as they’re off the needles. I tried a few different designs, but the favoured one has turned out to be Curly Purl’s pattern.

I’ve been doing all this baby knitting because of this little fellow.

This is Jonah Samuel, my grandson, nestled in my arms, sucking his thumb, aged 3 hours. He’s six weeks old now, getting bigger by the week, and needing lots of soakers. Oh boy.

Here is Sivia Harding’s lovely Norwegian Woods shawl, knit with Malabrigo Lace (2 skeins) in the Bobby Blue colour, probably the softest yarn I have ever used. There is a single row of hex cut beads along the scalloped edge – a bit hard to see, but they’re there. I love the shawl. It was one of those “I just can’t put it down” knits, and those are always just the best.

In the “what was I thinking” department, I bought some merino-bamboo fiber in so not me colours at Madrona last February. Clearly, after another drab grey winter, I was desperate for a colour fix. This is Merino/Bamboo 60/40, in the Electric Serbet colourway from Dragon Fibers. Pretty bright, eh?

But it turns out that I kind of like the finished yarn, and it was very nice to spin. 2 ply, 4 oz., 496 yds.

The last time I popped in I was spinning some Crown Mountain Farms superwash merino in the Under the Boardwalk colouway. Here’s how it turned out – 570 yds., 2 ply yarn.

It has been knit up into my favourite 3 by 1 rib socks. Not identical, not even fraternal, but they sure feel good on the feet.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Christina permalink
    July 7, 2008 12:10 am

    Congratulations on your beautiful new grandson!

  2. July 7, 2008 4:10 am

    Congratulations! You did beautiful knits πŸ˜‰

  3. July 7, 2008 8:08 am

    Lovely! especially that spinning! And when do we get to see both kitties??
    I was all ready to post today and forgot to email myself my photos, so your post was perfectly timed to keep the blog healthy.
    Congratulations on the little fellow.

  4. July 7, 2008 12:46 pm

    Well, the spinning is lovely and the knitting nice but the grandson? He is perfect! WOW. πŸ™‚

  5. July 7, 2008 1:16 pm

    I love the little yoked baby sweaters. Congrats on the little guy!
    And that shawl is gorgeous!

  6. Gillian permalink
    July 7, 2008 3:50 pm

    I love the blue baby sweater, and also your Electric Sherbet yarn. I was looking at a blouse in that colour mix today and thinking how pretty it was.

  7. July 7, 2008 8:10 pm

    You continue to amaze me! Everything is gorgeous, as always!

  8. July 7, 2008 11:30 pm

    I’m so happy for you and your new grandson. It’s a wonderful thing, to be knitting for a baby who means so much! Such great little sweaters. Your July 6th post is just full of great things!
    Peggy ;}
    PS: I’m an expectant grandmother myself! Our first grandbaby is due in February.

  9. July 8, 2008 2:56 am

    How fantastic being a gran to that beautiful baby! The blue baby sweater is lovely.

  10. July 9, 2008 8:38 pm

    Jonah is adorable, can’t wait to see him in all of those handknits! What an excellent Grandma you are! Norwegian Woods and all that handspun – exquisite!

  11. July 13, 2008 7:47 pm

    Cool, cool knits, Miss Mel! Love all the spinning and wow the yardage you can get! I am awed! The Norweigan Shawl is pretty darn awesome too – you go girl!
    June

  12. Jan permalink
    July 13, 2008 9:58 pm

    The shawl is perfect for you. Exquisite knitting of an exquisite design. I love your sherbet colors yarn! Hope you indluge in more of that kind of wildness in the future. Your grandbaby and his wardrobe are so sweet. Lucky guy, lucky mama, lucky grandma.

  13. Sam permalink
    July 15, 2008 1:59 am

    Oh, Mel – congratulations on that gorgeous grandson!! I am so incredibly happy for you. As ever, the knitting and spinning are utterly divine. The Electric Sorbet is fabulous, the Crown Mountain, luscious, the shawl, another stunner, and the baby things just too darned cute. I’m envious on all counts! πŸ™‚

  14. July 17, 2008 11:41 am

    WOW is about all that I Have to say…..Beautiful, beautiful!!
    Congratulations…your Grandson is a Very Handsome fellow! How Lucky are you….All!
    Hugs!

  15. July 26, 2008 11:01 am

    πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

