Skip to content

Hello again

July 14, 2008
by

I have quite a bit of accumulated stuff to show today. I was too crazy to post one week, then Melanie posted her beautiful stuff last week, so now I have to catch up.

I finished two skeins of yarn. The brown is suri/merino and I got it out of a traveling stash box. It is interesting to spin – not easy to make uniform, so I’m going for a sort of chewy yarn. The blue is the colonial top that I showed the other weekend – it made a much nicer yarn than I was expecting, so I’m spinning the second bobbin with a little more respect!

Each skein is around 4 ounces and about 225 meters. The blue skein is a little heavier, somehow I managed to jam about 4.3 ounces onto one bobbin.

I made progress on Garnet and have the front and back done. I sort of stalled on the second sleeve, because I got wrapped up in my sock (see below), but it will be done by next week. This is the body.

To prove that Jared Flood knows what he’s talking about, here is one taken with natural light falling across the fabric. On the Sticks and String podcast, David asked Jared how he gets such lovely photos of his knitting, and he said he likes to photograph it indoors but near a window, so the light falls across the surface of the piece and brings up the texture.

Moral of the story: quit pointing directly at your knitting.

The socks I got wrapped up in were my Master Upstream socks in the new colorway of Lorna’s Laces: Franklin’s Panopticon. Ordinarily, these are NOT my colors. But Franklin posted a photo of a piece of William Morris wallpaper that inspired it, and the wallpaper sang to me for some reason so I had to try the yarn.

This is hard yarn to photograph. Maybe next week I will try it with my super-cool new camera and see if it comes out better.

In real life, the sky blue is less dominant, and there is a thread of celadon green that runs beside the yellow, which is less lemony and more limey. But it is a neat effect.

I spent so much time on these socks because I got the heel turned and then decided I should really have made the foot half an inch longer. So, I ripped all the way back to the beginning of the arch increases and started over. This time I decided I didn’t want to be boring and just have the Vee up the top of the foot, so after about half my increases I sent back to increasing from the center again. It sort of made a neat effect, maybe you can see it. After I got above the ankle, I increased to have 64 stitches and started a feather and fan pattern.

What I would like to do with this particular architecture is find a way to imitate laces criss-crossing up the segment formed by the increases. I am so not creative though, I’m going to have to spend some time noodling around with a pencil and paper. The other thing I thought would be fun would be to run baby cables up the center and along each side of the Vee.

I finally got back the processed fiber from the fleece I bought at Maryland Sheep and Wool. Wow, I feel totally vindicated for taking a chance on this beast. It doesn’t look like there was much waste, judging from the size of the bag, and the fiber is even nicer than I expected. It has the feel in the hand of some targhee I spun once – springy and not as silky as merino. Here is a wee sample I spindled up on my purpleheart Bossworth midi (I still love that spindle best of all).

It is going to make lovely yarn. It appears that the fleece has the spring of the CVM ancestry, plus some of the strength of the coopworth and a little of the sheen of the bluefaced leicester. Very very nice.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2008 10:45 am

    Garnet is a lovely colour, that is a great example of the right lighting isn’t it. red can be hard to photograph too. I like your sock, great colours!

  2. July 14, 2008 4:15 pm

    Wowza, the CVM cross yarn looks delectable! It really has picked up the best feature of each of its ancestors. I love the colour of the blue colonial top – any chance you remember what the colourway is?
    Garnet looks great and the new architecture socks are fascinating.

  3. Sam permalink
    July 15, 2008 2:02 am

    Wowza, part two! Very beautiful yarns, and the socks look fascinating. I like how the color is coming up. The Garnet is going to be a real beauty on you, to be sure. Lovely!

  4. July 15, 2008 11:46 pm

    Love all the photos – thanks for the tip!
    I’m in such a spinning mood lately that I’m swooning over your new fiber – have fun!

  5. Jan permalink
    July 21, 2008 9:53 am

    Nice work and nice photos. I especially love the way Garnet just shines, and the different textures of your handspuns really hop out. Next best thing to squeezing the skeins! That CVM will make something very special. Are you going to spin in on your big Quebec?

Leave a Reply

