Skip to content

Yikes!

July 22, 2008
by

I’m a day late and way behind – I had jury duty yesterday and everything here is just nuts. I have some pictures but not much time for description. But I’m sure you won’t mind.

One Panopticon sock – Upstream architecture, feather and fan leg and i cord bindoff.

This is just a WEE tad snug around the arch, I guess in this yarn I need to go up to a 60 stitch foot circumference. But it will be acceptable, no ripping planned.

It is so funny to me that the same increase pattern works upside down or rightside up – this is an inversion of the Sky architecture, where the increases fan out in a triangle on top of your foot from a point at the anklebone – so, a triangle that widens down from the top over the arch. Upstream is a triangle where the increases fan out in a triangle on top of your foot from a point at the bottom of your arch – totally upside down from Sky. For my money, Sky fits better, but that could just have been my slight mis-guess on the gauge.

Garnet is finished. I took just about all of 7 skeins of Noro Lily. It fits perfectly and I love the fabric I got on size 5s, it isn’t going to sag. Sorry about the orange shorts, I wouldn’t ordinarily wear it with orange shorts…

That’s all gotta run!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2008 6:21 pm

    Wowza, Garnet is gorgeous! It fits perfectly. Then again, I’ve never seen you make anything that didn’t fit perfectly. Great job.

  2. July 22, 2008 6:35 pm

    Garnet is beautiful!

  3. July 23, 2008 7:46 am

    Garnet is fabulous! I like the sock too.

  4. July 23, 2008 5:33 pm

    You look great in that sweater, even with orange shorts! I like how you are doing such an intensive sock “study.” It really interests me, although I don’t have the book to understand each architecture. What I am most impressed with is how reflective you are about your knitting! You’ll be designing socks in no time… 🙂

  5. Renate permalink
    July 27, 2008 2:50 pm

    Lovely work on Garnet! I saw a sample at Amanda’s in Poulsbo, WA and immediately bought a copy of Elsebeth Lavold’s book that contains Garnet. Thanks for inspiring me!

  6. July 28, 2008 9:47 am

    Your Garnet sweater is lovely! Impeccably knit, too.

Leave a Reply

