Skip to content

More socks

August 4, 2008
by

I’m sort of into Year 2 on the sock fixation. I have so much pretty sock yarn that I constantly have a sock in the works.

I finished these last week.

I used the ‘Master Upstream’ pattern from Cat Bordhi’s book, and after I rejoined and knit an inch at the ankle I increased to 64 stitches to use feather and fan for the leg. They fit pretty well – a tiny tad snug going over the heel. I am thinking I need to use the ‘J’ stitches in the toe-up socks from that book.

I decided I was a bit weary of having to think about my socks, so I started a pair where someone else will tell me what to do. These are the ‘Ceilidh Socks’ from Anne at Wooly Wonka Fibers.

This pattern up the front is one we’ve probably all seen a thousand times if we’ve flipped through a Barbara Walker treasury. Anne uses it to mimic the lacings of a girl’s pair of soft shoes for Irish/Scottish dancing. I think it looks neat.

The yarn is merino, bamboo, and nylon, and it is lovely to knit and has a slight crispness and shine.

I have been working for a couple of weeks on the ‘Baltic Blossom’ shawl from Evelyn Clark’s website. This yarn is some Tess supermerino fingering weight yarn I bought at Stitches East two years ago – it’s lovely springy merino and it probably will refuse to take a block – but I will try. The pattern is easy (if you’ve made one nupp you’ve made them all – use a crochet hook on your wrong side rows). The yarn is way more brightly colored than I expected it to be in the hank but I think it will look pretty when it’s done and be very wearable.

You can see the yarn in the hank in this photo, draped across the top.

I’m nearly done with my Cotlin hand towels, I putz with these when I don’t feel like doing anything else, and I got a lot done on the day I had jury duty last month.

I plyed a whole bunch this weekend, but the yarn is not ready for its photo op yet…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2008 3:10 pm

    Very nice! 🙂

  2. August 4, 2008 6:30 pm

    I would have expected the shawl yarn to be much more blue than it looks, too. But, I like the effect the stripes are producing with that type of shawl construction–much better than something with more horizontal lines. Bet it will end up looking similar to a Charlotte’s Web.

  3. Kate/Massachusetts permalink
    August 4, 2008 8:08 pm

    Wow! I love everything you are doing! Beautiful!

  4. August 5, 2008 3:56 pm

    The shawl made me think of Charlotte’s Web too. Those are such cheerful colours. Do you have a favourite sock architecture from Cat Bordhi’s book?

  5. Jan permalink
    August 6, 2008 4:41 pm

    I like your bright colors!

  6. August 12, 2008 4:29 pm

    They let you take the knitting needles into the Courthouse?? (please tell me yes because I have jury duty next month…)

  7. August 13, 2008 6:30 pm

    Oh, you are knitting a rainbow – so pretty.

  8. August 15, 2008 11:08 am

    I just love your ‘Baltic Blossom’ shawl! How pretty!

Leave a Reply

