Skip to content

Things

September 22, 2008
by

Well, J is my friend. These socks fit GREAT.

I still seem to have a bit of trial-and-error with ‘E’ but once I get that right, the magic number seems to be J. This time, I added about 3/4ths of an inch worth of J stitches on the last row – I was getting 8 stitches per inch with this yarn so I added 3 ‘J’ stitches to each ‘wing’ at the point in the master pattern where she tells you to add your J stitches. And it made all the difference. I have a nice snug foot AND a sock that goes on.

I knitted up the leg as far as I reasonably thought I could given the circumference, then I went up a needle size and knitted 2 inches of ribbing and bound off with a lace bindoff, and it’s all perfect. I actually think these socks won’t fall down, although I have thought that before and been wrong.

Factoids: I used most of two hanks of ‘Casapa’ from Yarn4Socks, in the color “Cyclamen” – I used size 1 needles although I think this yarn would have been fine on size 2. I worked on them (Ravelry says) from August 19th to September 14th. I used the Ridgeline master pattern from the New Pathways book, and up the front I put a panel of ‘gull wing’ lace which can be found in Barbara Walker.

Now that I have made a bunch of socks from this book, I am better equpped to say which architectures are my favorites, a question someone asked here some time ago. The ones I will probably go back to over and over are ‘Sky’ for top-down, and ‘Ridgeline’ for toe-up, because I can most easily envision the possibilities for ornamenting those architectures.

However, now that I have embraced the secret of ‘J’, I am finally trying Coriolis.

The yarn is ‘Somoko’ from Fleece Artist in the color “Amethyst”, and I have to say I LOVE this yarn. The color is fabulous. The blend is a bit like Bearfoot – wool, nylon, and mohair, and with the addition of a little silk. The yarn label says to knit to 7 spi but after starting off on size 2 needles I decided 8 spi is better and I started over on size 1.

After spinning all that brown suri/merino and all that blue stuff, I wanted to spin something soft and lovely, so I fished out a two-ounce ball of roving I got a while ago at Maryland Sheep and Wool from Jean Womack at Wild Meadow Angoras.

I want a scarf, I hope I got enough yardage – it is about 150 meters/165 yards and 2 ounces. I should be able to knit lace with it on size 7 needles, and get something useful. Her blends are so beautifully done, and the colors are delicious.

I’m not making very rapid progress on my other projects. This is the boring stockinette back of the Taconic pullover, a WEBS pattern, and the yarn is Laines du Nord Cashsilk bought at WEBS last winter. The yarn is luscious to knit so I’m just zoning out while I knit the back of the sweater – I wanted to see if the yarn would be a good match and check my gauge before plunging into the much more interesting front.

I’m also working on the felted vest from Felted Knits by Ber Galeskas. It seemed to me that a felted equivalent of a down vest would be a really useful garment, and I certainly have tons of plain wool in stash that would be perfect for it.

The yarn is Knitpicks Wool of the Andes in the color ‘Spruce’. It is going to be a pretty nice item if I ever finish it – I discover that I need to knit on temporary front, neck, and armhole bands out of worsted weight cotton so that the edges will not felt beyond a certain size. I am not sure I have enough worsted weight cotton in the house to do that, so I might have to scare up a ball of something somewhere as a substitute. Then there will be the matter of a separating zipper, which is a much more difficult item to track down in the right size and color than it was 20 years ago.
Except for the socks, I am bored with my knitting. I need to get through all this stockinette and start something more complicated! Luckily cooler weather is here, and having a lap full of wool will seem like a good idea again.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2008 10:38 am

    I shall forever think of those as your “J” socks. It looks like you have a perfect fit.
    Your angora blend handspun is lovely and will be a treat to knit and wear.
    I’ve always admired that felted vest but, oh my, it seems like a lot of work.

  2. September 22, 2008 3:04 pm

    Zipperstop.com is the answer for your separating zipper needs! I’ve had great successes with them. (Just shut off the sound on your computer when you go to their site.) It sounds like that Cat Bordhi book was well worth the price…lots of knitting exploration going on at your house! Wow!

  3. September 22, 2008 6:20 pm

    Why is finding separating zippers in the right length and color more difficult now than it was 20 years ago?

  4. September 25, 2008 7:48 am

    Caroline! You always have so much going on, I never know what to comment on! Oh, it’s all good! Love the socks and the spinning – you rock as usual!

  5. September 25, 2008 10:59 am

    I can’t wait to see the felted vest, I love felted fabric and you have chosen a lovely colour.

  6. Jan permalink
    September 29, 2008 12:08 am

    The socks look like they were poured on your feet. Lucky feet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

