Skip to content

Purple socks

October 6, 2008
by

Fall is here and I’ve worn wool socks again for the first time. It feels good to have a pile of knitting in my lap. These socks are a good thing to be knitting at this time of year.

I really really love this yarn (Fleece Artist Somoko) and the amethyst color of them. I’m glad I have made a pair of Coriolis socks but this is not my favorite fit of the New Pathways socks I have tried so far. Maybe it’s because I made a flat toe instead of a toe that can be rotated slightly when you get to the ankle, but I find the shape just a tad strange across the instep. They fit ok, but I’d rather make more Ridgelines.

I’ve been spinning some natural grey CVM on the Mazurka, which I got at someone’s stash sale on Ravelry. It is springy, sort of like the targhee I spun once. I’m not sure what this will grow up to be, but it’s about 4.3 ounces and something over 200 meters.

I also dragged out some shetland X merino that I had bought as fleece and had processed, and I’m spinning it on the Symphony.

It is very silky and fine, a bit like cormo to spin.

Stupid spinner story: I sat down at the wheel to spin some of this earlier in the week, and I got a really annoying clunk in the rear footman and the wheel seemed to snap forward and then back again inside its axle bearing. After this happening a couple of days, I decided it was time to take the wheel off and put it back on to see if it got better, so I put the wheel out in the middle of the floor and started fooling with it. The bushing on the rear footman was very dry and sticky so I oiled that up, and I tightened the leathers, and it seemed to spin better. I put it back in its place and sat down to spin again – clunk, snap. Grrr. I loosened the screw on the front footman slightly, so it would move more easily on the axle and not stick, and I got down on the floor to oil the treadle rail. To do this, I almost have to stand on my head, as the little holes are underneath the treadles. When I was down there looking underneath the treadles, I saw a rubber ball the cats had pushed under there. When I removed the ball – wow, quiet. No clunk. Sigh.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2008 9:57 am

    Are you Rhinebecking again this year?
    I finally got my fleece from last year back from being processed, and it’s still lovely, but I haven’t had a chance to spin any of it yet.

  2. Melanie permalink
    October 6, 2008 3:30 pm

    The grey cvm looks like it would make wonderful warm mittens. Beautifully spun, as always. I love the closeups.

  3. October 6, 2008 3:39 pm

    That is really funny! I hope you can see the humor in it now. :o) My cat parks his rear against my wheel if I’m spinning and don’t stop to tend to his needs immediately. Bossy little creature!

  4. October 6, 2008 9:10 pm

    And the cat’s probably wondering where the toy went!

  5. October 7, 2008 8:02 pm

    On the cat ball level…Does your floor slant? I’ve had some crazy noises from my wheels because–it had moved to a slightly different angle on my (not flat) floor. It’s on the level of a cat ball, makes me feel completely insane! Also had a terrible clunk in my Canadian Production Wheel and couldn’t solve it…until I figured out that it went away completely when I put my foot squarely on the treadle instead of cattywhumpus. Hmph. I think one would call this user error?!

  6. Jan permalink
    October 11, 2008 9:25 am

    I love your handspun. Wool like that is a ‘comfort food’. Yummy to look at, yummy to knit and wear.

Leave a Reply

