Skip to content

monday

October 13, 2008
by

I finished my pretty purple socks.

They fit fine, but this is not my favorite Cat Bordhi architecture. I much prefer Ridgeline or Riverbed for toe-up. This yarn was just lovely – Fleece Artist Somoko in ‘amethyst’. Beautiful.
I couldn’t NOT be making socks, so as we ran out the door to Emily’s swim class I grabbed the stuff to start these:

Dolomite socks, by Anne Hanson of Knitspot. When I first saw this pattern I knew I had the right yarn for it. The photo on the pattern is a lovely shade of berry, and this skein of Dream in Color Smooshy in ‘In Vino Veritas’ seemed just right for it. I love this color too.

Last week when I showed the sherino I was spinning, I neglected what might be the best part of this:

That’s the bag of roving as it came back from Morning Sun Fiber Barn. Isn’t it yummy looking? Like soft-serve ice cream.

The vest was nearly done on Sunday when I took this picture. I had started putting the cotton temporary borders on, so it was looking a little odd, but you can see that the thing reached almost to my knees, and the armholes were definitely down to my waist.

Yesterday I stuck it in a mesh bag and put it in the washing machine in hot water. After a mere TEN MINUTES it was 17 inches long from front neckline to front bottom edge. TEN MINUTES. This Knitpicks Wool of the Andes felts like mad, and if you look away for too long your piece will be the size of a coaster.

It is hanging to dry now, I can’t knit on the permanent borders until it’s dry. The fabric it made is really nice, it just happened so darn fast.

And by the way – it bled dye like mad in the hot water. The water that pumped out of the washer was bright green. I would beware of doing color work in this yarn, including a light color, and then putting it in to felt.

Gotta shop for a zipper!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2008 11:40 am

    I like those dolomite socks! That’s an interesting stitch pattern.

  2. Melanie permalink
    October 14, 2008 3:35 pm

    I can hardly wait to see the finished vest. The yarn felted unbelievably fast.
    I just love the put up of the bag of fiber. It really does look yummy.

  3. October 14, 2008 7:47 pm

    I want to stick my face in that bag of sherino (love that name!)

Leave a Reply

