Skip to content

Harbour Lights

October 18, 2008

Hi! It’s me, Mel (Threadbender on Ravelry), back for my quarterly post. I’m such a bad blogger. I find it so hard to STOP knitting to take pictures, so most of what follows are done deeds.

Here is Harbour Lights – another stunning design from Sivia Harding. I saw this shawl last summer at the Victoria Fibre Festival and it stole my heart. I even knit it in the exact yarn used in the sample shawl. I adore the edging design.

The yarn is Alberta Rose 100% alpaca, 2 ply fingering weight. The shawl used one 200 g. skein, 724 m. / 791 yds. in natural white. The beads are 6/0 Czech seedbeads, pearl eggshell. This shawl has a lovely shape that stays put on your shoulders. The finished measurements are 62″ by 32″.

Here’s a close up of the beads. The white on white strikes me as very Victorian.

But wait! There’s more! Tired of knitting socks, but in need of some not too challenging commuter knitting, I started the Zetor Scarf, a free pattern that is popular on Ravelry.

I used two 20 g. / 300 m. skeins of Artisan NZ Merino lace weight in that have been in the stash for quite some time. I knit till the yarn ran out and ended up with a lighter than air full sized shawl measuring 68″ by 34″.

I bought a couple of Blue Moon Fiber Arts Sheep 2 Shoe kits last February at the Madrona Fiber Arts Winter Retreat. There are about 8.5 ozs of superwash merino fiber in each kit. I prefer fingering weight socks to sports weight socks, so I spun the singles fairly fine. I ended up with 552 yds of 3 ply with enough singles left over to make 805 yds of 2 ply lace weight. This is the 3 ply in the Valkyrie colourway. I love the subtle colour shifts.

I test knit this cute little hoodie for my friend Kerry, the knitting goddess behind Northern Palm Designs. I have to show you this modelled by my teddy bear, because by the time I got it knit, my baby grandson had outgrown it! This is knit with Elann’s Superwsh Bamboo, which was very nice to work with.

Next up is Irish Moss. I’m using Virtual Yarns 3 ply Hebridean in the Tormentil colour. I ordered 13 x 50 g. skeins and received 26 skeins of assorted sizes – perhaps it was the end of the lot. I can’t complain, though, because they actually sent extra yardage. I can’t get gauge, so I’m fudging it. I’m close on the stitch gauge, but the row gauge is off. Unable to leave well enough alone, I’m going to make it as a cardigan, and I want armholes instead of drop shoulders. The picture does not do the colour justice. It’s a rich, tweedy cinnamon brown, not the washed out pinky brown I see in the photo. The yarn is rugged, yet is not the least bit harsh. I don’t have a lot of knitting time at the moment, but I look forward to the few rows I can do each night.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2008 9:38 am

    Wow…your knitting and spinning is very beautiful. Well done!

  2. October 19, 2008 9:48 am

    Wow! I can’t believe how far you’ve gotten on Irish Moss already!! It’s beautiful and I hope to see it in February!
    The shawls are gorgeous, love the white beads on the white alpaca and yours is my favorite Zetor – it looks like it’s made out of sky!

  3. October 19, 2008 11:44 am

    Wow, so productive! I’m jealous. I keep starting things without finishing previous things. 😦
    And I love the Harbour Lights shawl especially.

  4. October 19, 2008 12:16 pm

    The shawls are gorgeous!

  5. October 19, 2008 10:02 pm

    Wow! I was just feeling like a lazy slob for not getting photos taken today, and I see that you have posted another collection of gorgeous stuff so I am way off the hook!
    I love Harbour Lights, I have to go buy that pattern because I have to make it. You have been so busy. It’s all beautiful.

  6. October 20, 2008 10:42 am

    They’re all gorgeous! I looked at some sheep to shoe kits at SOAR but couldn’t commit. Now I wish I had!

  7. October 20, 2008 12:59 pm

    Wow! Just WOW! I want to see all of these at Madrona! Every item looks like knitted perfection. And, that skein of sock yarn–absolute spinning perfection.

  8. LisaK permalink
    October 20, 2008 4:01 pm

    Beautiful stuff!!!

  9. Sam permalink
    October 21, 2008 11:50 am

    Holy cow, Mel – this is all truly a feast for the eyes! I love love love Irish Moss – that’s been on my list, and I’m just waiting for yarn to speak to me. Your BM StoS yarn is just stunning – any plans for a sock pattern yet? And the hoodie – too cute! The shawls are amazingly beautiful. You’ve been far too productive! 😉

  10. October 22, 2008 7:46 pm

    Mel as usual you treat us to such eye candy!! I just don’t know how you get the yardage you do from that sock that rocks fiber!! Wow!! Now I know who I want to visit for sure if I ever make it up to the BC side of Canada!!

  11. October 25, 2008 4:34 am

    Wow, beautiful lace knits! I’ve just finished a beaded alpaca laceshawl as well. I’m just interested: I notice that you have used a similar colour to the example in the Zetor shawl, and the exact same yarn as the example for Harbour lights – I find that I unconsciously do this, knit a pattern in a similar colour to the one I’ve seen, almost as though I can’t imagine it in another colour. I even started a Cleite shawl in blue, then unravelled it and started again in red, like the pattern pictures! Do you find you often keep the designer’s colour choice?

  12. October 25, 2008 7:00 pm

    For Lucy – do I often keep the designer’s colour choice? Sometimes. Absolutely yes for Harbour Lights, although I didn’t use the recommended beads. I’ve seen it in other colours and they just didn’t appeal to me as much. Mostly yes if the original design is any shade of blue/teal/turquoise/purple, otherwise, no. I’ve been looking for something to knit with the Artyarn NZ merino for years. I never really liked the yarn, but Zetor was the perfect thing.

Leave a Reply

