Skip to content

Stitching

November 10, 2008
by

Saturday I went to what will most likely be my last Stitches East – they are moving it out of Baltimore next year and this is not something I will travel for. I didn’t shop much – I took most of the time we had to just talk to Lisa and Rod in their booth full of those colorways we all recognize by name.

I bought 8 ounces of bluefaced leicester top in ‘Peacock’, which is darker on the sock yarn I bought last year, but which created a lovely seafoam aqua on the fiber.

We wandered around a lot, but the only other thing I decided I really wanted to have was some yarn in that signature cobalt blue that I always associated with Tessyarns. While standing around inside the booth I noticed a new sock-weight yarn she has, Baby Bunny, with some angora content, and I thought it would make wonderful winter socks.

I don’t know what I’ll make with the blue, but it is 600 yards of the same superwash merino petite that I made my Baltic Blossoms shawl out of this past summer.

Sunday I sat down to spin the wonderful aqua BFL but the wheel I wanted to do it on was not cooperating (no matter how much you want to, when spinning double drive you cannot defy the laws of physics) so it was set aside pending purchase of new bobbins. I’m still spinning ever so slowly through the shetland X merino on the Symphony so I went back and did some of that instead.

The Dolomite socks are about 3/4ths done, I’m about to start the second heel flap. Emmy’s hoodie is above the armholes, so I hope I will have that for her soon. And Taconic is making significant progress. I just love this cable pattern, and the Cashsilk yarn is so yummy that I work on this a lot.

Well, I tried to link to a picture I have hosted on Imageshack, but it won’t save. Does Movable Type not like Imageshack? Does anybody know?? If I figure it out I’ll come back and add it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2008 10:29 am

    I love those plump cables! I’d want to be spinning that BFL too, and the colour of the blue yarn from Tess sure turns my crank.

  2. Jan permalink
    November 10, 2008 12:08 pm

    You have a good eye for yarns that are keepers. I’m sorry to hear Stitches is moving out of Baltimore. It has been a great gathering place. Beautiful job on the Taconic. It looks luscious.

  3. November 10, 2008 7:01 pm

    That Peacock fiber is right up my alley. Love how your cabled sweater looks, too.

  4. November 11, 2008 7:51 pm

    Wow! I love Taconic! The color, the cable crispness, the pattern. . .just all of it! I will be interested to hear what you do with the Sock yarn from Tess’s I have some lace weight from her just languishing in the stash . . . thanks for the reminder!
    Do you know where the new choice of venue for SE will be?

Leave a Reply

