Skip to content

FOs

December 8, 2008
by

OK, as promised, some things are finished.

First, Taconic.

Despite all my fretting, it is a perfect fit. Good thing, too, as I only had one ball left (65 yards) plus a tiny remainder of another ball.

This picture shows it to best advantage I think.

The feel of this yarn (Laines du Nord Cashsilk) is absolutely delicious, I hope it holds up ok and does not pill. I knitted it at a tighter gauge than the label calls for (but, who doesn’t do THAT nowadays when all labels seem to say 4 stitches per inch??), but it is a delicate mix of fibers and I know I’ll have to treat it gently.

I decided to use ribbing at the neckline despite my misgivings, and although there is no ribbing anywhere else on the sweater, it doesn’t look out of place.

I raised the neckline one whole cable pattern repeat, and I’m glad I did, it’s just right. Why do so many sweaters start the bottoms of V necks at the same time as they set the armholes? Who wants their necklines down to their underarms??

I made tons of notes on Ravelry about pattern errors and confusions, this pattern was not the best written I’ve ever seen, but if you can muddle through it you will have a really nice sweater in the end.

Emmy’s hoodie is also done, except for the zipper (she decided she wanted a zipper after all, so we have to wait for it to come in the mail).

It is pretty much a perfect fit, too – a little loose and baggy but not too oversized, just how she likes it. She will get more than one winter out of this. Maybe she will wear it… This was a free Lana Grossa pattern I found online – it’s now moved here. I used Araucania Naturewool and size 8 needles. This seemed a bit of a loose gauge for the yarn but it made it come out the size I wanted, so I persevered, and I spun it in the dryer for a few minutes when it was nearly dry to fluff up the yarn a little. This seems to have worked.

I finished one of my Tess Baby Bunny socks.

Now that I have learned what my fit numbers are, my Cat Bordhi toe-up socks fit perfectly. This yarn is luscious, too, very light but cushy and warm.

I have become enamored of linen stitch cuffs on my toe-up socks. When I get as high up my leg as the fit will allow, I switch to size 2 needles and make a linen stitch cuff and then end with a lace bindoff. I love how this particular yarn looks in linen stitch – because of the length of the color repeats in the yarn, it almost makes a honeycomb pattern.

I am on my way up the leg of the second sock, it will probably take over a week for me to finish because I am distracted by my new WIP:

This is the beginning of the Sweet Pea jacket from the latest issue of the Twist Collective. The yarn is (gasp) the one called for in the pattern, Harrisville Heathered Bulky, and the needles are (faint) size 13. I get so tired knitting on this size needle, but the yarn is beautiful and the whole thing is shaping up nicely. I am afraid I will need another hank of yarn to complete the size I am making, but I will worry about that when the body is done and I have to take stock of the yarn remaining for the sleeves. I was smitten by this pattern the first time I saw it, it took me a week or two to decide I could handle the gauge. When I was a pre-teenager I had a red wool pea jacket my mother made for me – double breasted, with black buttons I think – I loved that jacket and was sorry when I couldn’t wear it anymore, and this pattern brings that back to me a little bit.

In other news, I am now in possession of a borrowed trap for a cat. I hope I can overcome my case of serious nerves and attempt to trap Mamacat sometime between now and early January so she won’t have to be a mamacat again. Stay tuned.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2008 11:14 am

    I love Taconic on you and the hood on Emmy! Brilliant fit! Regarding v-necks, I think the reason why they are done lower on some sweaters is because buxom folk are flattered by a lower v-neck. I am often looking at that as I design and knit things…I wear a lot of v-necks. I wish you all good things when it comes to your sweet pea knitting…I’m sure it will be lovely when it’s done! I love the speed of big needles but have to alternate with little needle projects to avoid muscle hurts. You have much bravery when it comes to mama cats…you can do it!

  2. December 8, 2008 11:40 am

    Wowza, Taconic is smashing! I love how it looks on you. I would have raised the V too. Emmy’s hoody looks great too.
    I looked long and hard at that pea coat, so I’ll be watching for yours. I too had a pea coat way, way back that I was inordinately fond of.

  3. December 8, 2008 11:44 am

    Beautiful knitting…looks great on you both. Good luck with Mama cat! Are you going to have her spade?

  4. December 8, 2008 12:30 pm

    I love all your projects, but Taconic in particular!

  5. December 8, 2008 1:20 pm

    Taconic looks yummy! Very flattering design. Those socks look yummy, too, and Emmy’s sweater looks so cute on her.

  6. December 8, 2008 2:32 pm

    Taconic is beautiful – great fit and the neck line is just right. I like the fuzzy socks, too.

  7. December 8, 2008 4:04 pm

    Emmy looks like she’s getting so big! Your Taconic looks great on you. Looking forward to seeing your Pea Coat; the yarn is such a pretty color. With that size needle, it should be done in no time.

  8. December 9, 2008 4:36 am

    Your knits look lovely, I especially love the cables. Good luck with the cat. I have just had to take ours to the vet and its a nightmare getting him in the box!

  9. Jan permalink
    December 11, 2008 7:28 pm

    Taconic is a winner! Great job on the neck and ribbing. Emmy’s hoodie is cute and fits well too. Good luck with your kitty project. You are brave! I love her house; it’s easy to see that she would feel secure there, just in time for winter.

Leave a Reply

