Skip to content

Ahem

December 19, 2008
by

Yes it’s me, on the wrong day at the wrong time… Monday I was all tied up in the morning, forgot to email the photos to myself at work – emailed them Tuesday, but Wednesday and Thursday we were shut off from the entire internet while waiting for a critical patch from Microsoft – so life is just back to normal today.

Mamacat will be a mama no more, she was officially trapped on Saturday, spayed on Sunday, and released on Monday. She disappeared for 2 days but turned up again in the front yard on Wednesday, to my great relief. Thursday morning at 6:30am she was sitting beside her bowl looking at me when I turned on the kitchen light.

Of course, THIS morning when I turned on the kitchen light, there was some OTHER CAT in HER chair. So I don’t know what’s going on in the world of feral cats. I have a feeling this is Papacat, and I am not sure I will be able to catch him. I know I don’t want him taking over Mamacat’s place on my porch….

In other news, I finished my Grapevine Riverbed socks out of the Tess Baby Bunny sock yarn.

Very pretty, very cozy, fit well… BUT. This is what they looked like after one day in my standard footwear (clogs).
TessGrapevineSocks2.JPG

See how the foot area is covered in pure white fuzz? Somehow, not only is the angora being pulled to the surface by shoe friction, but IT IS WHITE. How can the angora be embedded in a yarn, which has been dyed, and yet it fuzzes out WHITE? Don’t get it.

So, my verdict is that this is a luxury sock yarn.

I got the zipper for Emmy’s hoodie. The pattern called for 6 inch. I measured the opening and decided upon 5 inch, and I am glad I did as it fits perfectly. Zipperstop.com was the only place I found that had zippers that small, and they were only black or white. Luckily white works great with this yarn.

Someone is happy with her hoodie.

I am still knitting away on Sweet Pea. It is going to be lovely. The pockets are incredibly clever. It’s hard to describe here how they work.

This is the right front.

See, in the middle sort of, that isolated strip of moss stitch? That is the pocket ‘cuff’. The pocket is made by first knitting a little plain square and setting it aside. When you get to where the pocket opening should start, you leave off the outside half of the front, and knit up the center front part while making the pocket edge – you knit back and forth between the pocket edge and the front center edge till it is the right length, then just drop the yarn. Then you take the little pocket square you made and knit across that and the outside half of the front together with a second ball of yarn, and knit that half of the front (side edge to inside of pocket) until it is the same length as the other half. Then you bind off the pocket square and resume knitting the entire front.

This is what it looks like on the outside.

On the inside, everything is loose and flapping and rolling, to be sewed down later.

So, you have a pocket that not only opens vertically, but has a little pouchy part that goes DOWN. Clever pocket construction and probably one that will be fun to put my hands into!

The bad news with this one is that the size I am making calls for 7 balls of Harrisville Heathered Bulky, and I am afraid I am not going to even make it with 8. Buying two more balls of yarn than I planned on is a huge irritation considering that the yarn is about $10 a ball. I am doing the math and hoping I can eke the collar out of 35 grams of the yarn – otherwise I don’t know WHAT I will do. Anyone have any oddballs of this in color 18, Aubergine?

Not much spinning as I am busy knitting. I did finish another skein of the CVM, about 3.5 ounces and 180 yards.

This is probably my last post until the end of the month, as we will be away for a few days right after Christmas. Have a good holiday if you celebrate one!

Update, Saturday: Don’t know why I didn’t think of this before. I frogged the 1 1/2 sleeves I have knit for Sweet Pea, and I’m going to knit a smaller size. The sleeves are plenty wide, I will just give up a little of that ease. It should help.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2008 9:28 am

    Merry Christmas!

  2. December 20, 2008 7:21 pm

    Emmy is just beaming! It’s just great to see that she loves something her mamma made specially for her.
    The socks, oh the socks, they were beautiful and cushy, and I’m sure they still are, but who would have thought that would happen? Not me.
    I can’t wait for you to finish the pea coat. I love the colour.

  3. December 22, 2008 3:31 pm

    Caroline, I always wonder when you sleep!? Wow, it’s all great and that hoodie is a work of art. . . look at all the stockinette!! zZZZ Monster would have got me for sure! Happy Holidays to both of you! 🙂

  4. December 22, 2008 3:33 pm

    Sorry, I forgot, I looked again and it reminded me. . .I would have been a bit po’d about the socks! It takes me forever to knit socks (or anything for that matter!) and to have them practically disintegrate in your shoe is totally unacceptable imo! I had some bearfoot that pretty much felted, so, nope won’t buy it again. . .

  5. December 22, 2008 5:06 pm

    That IS interesting pocket construction! That’s going to be so pretty – can’t wait to see it finished! Happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

