Skip to content

Great day

January 20, 2009
by

I feel a little shallow talking about knitting on a day like this, but I will get the knitting out of the way so we can all celebrate the fact that the countdown on the right side of this page is running down to zero! Note: clock REMOVED! Yay!

The green Welig gloves are finished and being worn quite a bit.

They fit very well although I still cannot figure out where I went wrong with the stitch counts on the hands. I overlooked the increases in row 23 on the palm side, but I decided to make the 2nd glove match the first in this respect, and ended up with yet a different number of stitches when dividing for the fingers. The pattern is really beautiful. I love how the 4 strands of the cables run up the 4 fingers. As annoying as it was to execute, I love how the cable twists sometimes send one strand through the other (you might be able to see it in the center crossings). I’m resisting the temptation to sit right down and make the opera-length gloves from the same Robin Melanson book. What would I do with opera length gloves??

I have finished the back of Deirdre and am halfway up the front. I am really loving knitting with this Zephyr DK weight. What beautiful yarn. This is going to be an incredibly elegant sweater.

To relieve all the green, I started the Estonian Lullaby blanket by Evelyn Clark. The yarn is some angora/merino from France that I bought from Louise’s stash sale – she said she had met the bunnies who made the fiber for the yarn.

I am not sure how much I am going to enjoy knitting this. The pattern is baby simple, although it does have a quirk that causes you to lose your place at first and led me to put markers in every two pattern repeats. The yarn is very soft, but it does appear to shed slightly, so when I get this all done, am I going to be able to use it? Any suggestions about how to manage angora items would be appreciated! I do recall that when I was knitting my Highland Triangle out of Brooks Farm Harmony, it shed like mad but then when it was finished and worn it did not shed. Maybe that will be the case here.

So, enjoy your day, make time at noon to watch TV, and CELEBRATE!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2009 12:47 pm

    It’s done! We have a new president! Yippeee!!!

  2. Ruby permalink
    January 22, 2009 3:29 pm

    The only experience I have with angora is a sweater that my mother knit (but it was 100% angora) for me years ago. It is wonderful, except for two things – it is too warm to wear unless it is freezing or below, and it sheds even 20 years later. I hope that you angora/merino mix does better.

  3. January 23, 2009 3:33 pm

    Those gloves are beautiful! Love the colour. I hope your angora stops shedding. So far, I haven’t found any angora that didn’t shed. I wonder whapping your yarn before using it would help. Knowing you, you’re probably already finished the blanket by now.

Leave a Reply

