Skip to content

Gone retro; back later, maybe.

May 18, 2009
by

I finally finished Clifford the big red jacket (“Go Retro” from a Knitters magazine from last year).

It was a pretty fast knit although it is so large. I spent a bunch of time waiting – waiting for more yarn, waiting for the buttons.

I was lucky to find buttons so large in a fairly close shade, as no other buttons I could lay hands on were big enough. These are some FAT button loops!

You can’t really tell, but the collar (and also the top inch of one sleeve) is knitted with Cascade 220 held double, and the rest is knitted with Cascade 109. You could only tell if you looked really closely, because the ply texture is different.

I loved the fat cozy texture of the garter-basketweave. And the sleeves naturally bell a little because of the needle sizes, even without the wider bottom that I omitted. It’s going to be fun to wear, when fall comes around.

After that went to block, I made this year’s teacher mitts. Fetching has been such a useful pattern!!

Isobel is coming along. Now that the mitts are finished I’m working on a sleeve. It’s a long haul, all that moss stitch, but they will be nice. I’m knitting them on DPs so that I will only have to set them in, no sewing (the body is knitted in one piece to the armholes).

We had a fiber swap last month at our spinning group and I brought home this little lump of BFL, dyed by a group member. It made me think of the lavender bushes next to my front door. We’ll see what kind of yarn it grows up to be.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Sam permalink
    May 18, 2009 11:26 am

    Oh, I’m so glad to see this post this morning. I saw the coat on Ravelry, but so nice to see it here. What a cheerful color that is – will be great come winter. The mitts look great – lovely gift. Isobel is coming along nicely. How will you be setting the sleeves? Hanging out to see that one finished! How much of the pretty fiber do you have?

  2. Mel permalink
    May 18, 2009 12:48 pm

    Go Retro rocks! The buttons are perfect and so is the fit. I would never have guessed that you used a different yarn for the collar and sleeve top.
    The Fetchings look great and so does the bobbin of BFL.

  3. May 20, 2009 10:56 am

    That is a lovely jacket, it looks a great fit.

  4. Jan permalink
    May 22, 2009 5:27 pm

    That jacket is a keeper!

  5. May 23, 2009 12:05 pm

    Love the sweater! It looks so warm and it’s great in red! Awesome!

  6. May 24, 2009 10:11 am

    What a beautiful coat, Caroline! It looks fabulous on you! 🙂 Moss stitch makes me crazy, so I applaud you for your perseverance with those sleeves!

Leave a Reply

