Skip to content

Almost

June 1, 2009
by

Everything is almost finished. I kind of like this, because it means in a week or so I can be working on all new stuff!

The fuzzy red angora/merino Estonian Lullaby is actually nearly done. I have started the edging on one end. It is so lovely and light and soft. It sheds EVERYWHERE, there is even red fuzz sort of knitted into the sleeves of Isobel that I tend to work on in the same knitting session. Anyone have any ideas about how I can finish this thing to minimize the shedding? If so, please comment!

The first sleeve of Isobel is finished and I’m about 2/3rds done with the second.

If you look very closely, you might be able to see the increase line of the underarm seam, wandering diagonally across the bottom half of the sleeve. Is it normal for moss stitch to bias when knit in the round? Or is it just that my knitting in particular makes moss stitch bias when knit in the round? I am hoping a good severe block will correct this tendency for the underarm seam to spiral out around the sleeve. Sigh. I do wrap my purls clockwise, but I do combination knitting, which I would have thought would correct for that. Maybe somehow when I knit into a stitch that was previously purled, I twist it somehow in the wrong way? But that would apply on the flat knitting too, and that lies fine. Well, I’m not going back and totally reknitting two sleeves, so it will be what it will be.

I finished spinning the hand dyed BFL that I got in my spinning group swap. It made beautiful yarn!

I seem to be stuck at 300 yards to 100 grams when I do a 3 ply yarn. I really wanted this to be socks. Perhaps if I knit it on size 2 needles, I could get a pair of socks. I think it came out quite handsome indeed, like a bed of lavender in summer.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Michele permalink
    June 1, 2009 10:48 am

    My moss stitch sleeves knit in the round combination knitting for my minimalist cardigan biased greatly. The only difference is they are staight sleeves. I think it changed the gauge slightly also. They blocked out fine.

  2. Mel permalink
    June 1, 2009 11:44 pm

    The blanket looks so luxurious! I hope you get an answer about the shedding (I don’t have one).
    The lavender and green really is very pretty, and beautifully spun.

  3. June 1, 2009 11:48 pm

    Love the red! What about throwing it in the dryer with no heat to shake out the loose stuff?
    I get the same yardage you do. Every time. Looks great, but I sure understand wishing it would be thinner for socks.

  4. June 2, 2009 7:12 pm

    I love the BFL!! Oh my! I can’t wait to see what you do with that! I am no help with the blankie, I would be having a hard time with that yarn! I don’t think I can “do” angora! Whew! Good luck it’s truly gorgeous! 🙂

  5. June 3, 2009 9:18 am

    I have no idea on the shredding issue but it looks lovely as does the spinning.

  6. June 5, 2009 10:12 pm

    A little felting may help with the shedding. I am allergic to angora so I have minimal personal experience there.
    Yes, moss stitch can bias in a sleeve. Don’t worry about it. Block it, it’ll be on your arm, no one will notice. It will not twist and cut off circulation or anything. 🙂 I can’t wait to see the whole Isobel on you! It will be stunning, I bet, as all your knitting is!!

Leave a Reply

