Skip to content

Lace

July 27, 2009
by

Everything seems to be coming up lace here. It must be that summer thing happening.
Titania is done.

It turned out to fit pretty well – this is not a sweater you would want with a huge amount of ease. I used yarn that knitted up with more stitches per inch than the specified Cotton Fleece, and made a size that was 4 inches larger than I needed, and it turned out pretty much right on.

Waistline:

Neckline:

Sleeve:

For all it’s so lacey and cottony, I won’t be wearing it until the less-humid days of fall. The sleeves are 3/4 length and a little snug, so it would be all sweat all the time if I put it on now.

The yarn (Valley Yarns Longmeadow) is cotton and microfiber and it turned out to be quite nice. While splitty to knit with, it is lightweight and a little shiny, and it shows the stitches of this pattern really well.

I am still working away at the Johanna knee socks. I have one sock completed. (It’s hard to photograph a sock on your own leg, and I had already put the tripod away before I did this – you’ll just have to wait till the pair is done to get a properly proportioned photo!)

I am really pleased with how this turned out, with the size 0 needles and the Bordhified foot. As I got to the top of the leg shaping, I began to realize I was running really tight on yarn. My skein weighed about 164 grams, and I had hit 85 remaining and was at least an inch and a half shy of the full length. Amazingly, Kerry came to my rescue with 20 grams of the exact same shade of Wollmeise! Lucky thing, too. Weight of completed single sock: 91 grams. Weight of remaining yarn: 95 grams.

I feel like I have been working on this forever, so the second sock should take no time at all. I knitted the entire food and heel and an inch up the leg before I decided it was too big and frogged. After finishing the heel, I had to pause for a bit waiting for confirmation from the designer that there was a direction missing from the pattern, because suddenly the start of the round moved from the side of the foot to the center back with no indication of how to make that happen. Then I knitted up the leg, and paused again waiting for help from the designer because the start of the round moved back to the side of the foot again (for this one she had to knit part of a sample to find out what she wanted to recommend I do). This time, I am totally armed with all the information I need and I can just knit.

As a break from all the thinking about the sock, while I was waiting the last time, I started some other lace. This is the Ice Fantasia by Anne Hanson from the winter issue of Twist Collective.

I am using KnitPicks Gloss laceweight yarn (merino and silk) in the Sterling colorway – it seemed like a good match for the idea of ice. I had intended to use Lisa’s lace yarn in her Silver Lake colorway, but I got a brainstorm about what I want to do with that instead.

When Titania was done, I could no longer resist the skein of cormo/alpaca from Sixth Day Farm that was sitting on the shelf calling to me. I cast on for the Soft Cables Moebius (a Heartstrings pattern), which I had seen at Maryland and been smitten with.

This picture was taken just before I frogged and started over with a larger needle and a smaller stitch count, because it was going to come out too short. But can’t you just tell what an amazing hand this yarn has? Wow. It’s like knitting with heavy cream.

Last night I sat at a banjo/accordion concert and knit away and got at least halfway back to where I had left off.

I’m still working on my beautiful Peacock BFL on my Quebec wheel. Big news: I broke the yardage barrier! This skein is approximately 300 yards in 2.7 ounces, 3 ply!!

I am envisioning a pair of knee socks (again!) out of this, probably one of Cookie A’s lovely kneesock patterns.

Finally, an oddball for you. Someone at my spinning group brought in this gigantic bump of roving to our fiber swap earlier in the summer – she called it “Hog Island feral sheep” wool and said we should all take some. It was interesting stuff – very short staple, very crimpy, and a little stiff. It was interesting to spin and turned out amazingly lightweight. This skein is about 225 yards to 3 ounces, two ply. No idea what I’ll do with it but it was a fun exercise.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Rebecca permalink
    July 27, 2009 10:11 am

    Lovely, lovely, lovely lace projects! Titania is stunning and looks like a perfect fit. Knee socks on size zero needles……and you are thinking the second sock will go faster…LOL

  2. July 27, 2009 10:42 am

    Gorgeous, all of it! I love that sweater, it fits you perfectly, and what great yardage! Congrats on breaking your barrier!

  3. July 27, 2009 10:45 am

    Titania is absolutely stunning! Enjoy in good health 🙂
    Looking forward to seeing some knee highs in that lovely yarn.

  4. Melanie permalink
    July 27, 2009 12:07 pm

    Titania is just lovely, it has a romantic look about it with the lace and the sleeve cuffs.
    Lovely spinning there, Miss Pru.

  5. July 28, 2009 8:10 am

    Titania is lovely on you!

  6. July 28, 2009 5:33 pm

    Hog Island is a rare breed: http://hogislandsheep.org/
    Glad to see such gorgeous yarn from a precious wool. 🙂
    Your lace is stellar! I really like Titiana and I just want to reach through the screen to pet your cormo/alpaca… It’s a long reach from Canada, but you know what I mean!

  7. July 29, 2009 2:05 pm

    Beautiful lacey sweater in the first picture. It fits so perfectly.

  8. Jan permalink
    August 3, 2009 11:29 am

    Titania is lovely. Very flattering.

  9. Jen permalink
    August 4, 2009 4:21 pm

    Titania is absolutely gorgeous!

  10. August 22, 2009 8:24 am

    I’ve been meaning to comment on this post for so long now and keep forgetting…Titania looks so very lovely and flattering on you! Gorgeous! Beautiful handspun, too.

Leave a Reply

