Skip to content

Knee socks

September 2, 2009
by

Yeah maybe I’m too old for the knee sock look, but I just finished a great pair and so too bad…

The pattern is Johanna by Julia Riede and you can get it via Ravelry. I used an entire 150 gram skein of Wollmeise wool/nylon in ‘Gewitterhimmel’, plus about 14 grams of extra that Kerry sent me from her skein. They fit extremely well and I think they may even stay up without alterations.

The key to this pattern’s success, for me, was the ability to place the calf shaping in the right spot. I knitted the leg and tried it on until I was up to the place where the calf muscle starts to increase in size, then began to work the center back chart containing the increases. The shaping of the increases was a pretty good match for the shape of my leg, and when the increases were done I could rib until I hit the place I wanted the top of the sock to be.

These took awhile to make because I backtracked a few times to be sure I got a good result. I started in mid June and knit the entire foot and heel, then decided I didn’t like the fit and ripped and went to size 0 needles. While I was at it, I calculated some numbers and used the master Riverbed architecture from the Cat Bordhi book to make the foot and heel because I knew I would get a good fit. Then, twice on the way up the leg I paused for clarifications from the designer to be sure how to properly transition from one section to the next. The first sock took 6 weeks to make, the second one just a month. It never felt like drudgery to knit these, for whatever reason – I was perfectly happy to work on them. Maybe it was the lace pattern – just short enough, just enough interest (moving stitches back and forth at the beginning of the row to keep the lace lined up). Maybe it was the yarn. Who knows. But I’m ready to make another pair of knee socks!

I don’t know how the designer made a pair of these with just one skein of Smooshy. Maybe she is petite/not very tall. I thought for sure if she could do it with that, I could do it with one full skein of Wollmeise as I am not particularly tall myself, but I ran a wee tad short. If you want to make these, be sure you have plenty of yardage.

This is how I might wear them, come fall…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2009 11:12 am

    They look great on you!

  2. Roberta permalink
    September 2, 2009 5:03 pm

    What a perfect fit! Love ’em.
    Roberta

  3. September 2, 2009 9:48 pm

    They’re awesome. I’m not a knee sock person either but wearing them under jeans on a cold day would be comfy.

  4. Melanie permalink
    September 3, 2009 3:53 pm

    Oooh-la-la! They look great, they fit great, and they’ll keep you nice and warm.

  5. September 6, 2009 10:41 am

    They are great! I like your shoes too.

  6. Sam permalink
    September 11, 2009 11:28 am

    Great fit – those look terrific!

  7. Jan permalink
    September 11, 2009 2:21 pm

    Gorgeous…and what a satisfying process that led up to them.

  8. September 13, 2009 10:17 am

    Love the socks! What better way to use a fabulous yarn!?

Leave a Reply

