Skip to content

Nothing is done

September 21, 2009
by

Knitting away and not getting done.

I have been working on the edging of Ice Fantasia for WEEKS now, and I’m just about 2/3 of the way done. You are supposed to knit 79 repeats of a 12-row pattern, and it takes longer than it sounds like it should. This is going to be a big shawl when it’s blocked.

One of the cool things about this pattern is that the third chart, the mesh, is the same pattern as the second chart, except that she drops the plain wrong-side rows and condenses the chart so that every row is lace.

The yarn is prettier than these photos show, it’s more silvery and not just flat grey.

This is my current sock project – it’s Sottopassaggio by Yarnissima from the latest issue of Twist Collective. After these pictures were taken, I finished the first sock last night. (Pardon all the blurred pictures, I’m not sure what my problem was yesterday.)

The construction of this is clever – it seems to be based upon the Coriolis architecture from Cat Bordhi’s last book, the twisted stitch panel moves across the instep and disappears behind the pattern coming up the side of the heel flap. As a result, it looks like one odd piece of work unless it has a foot in it.

The yarn is Hipknits ‘Ophelia’, I think in a color called Bluebell, that I got in a Ravelry swap. It has scant yardage for sock yarn, so I didn’t try to push my luck and get a tall sock. I will knit the second one to the same length as this one, and then if I have yardage left, I’ll see about making them both a little taller.

I couldn’t stop myself from casting on for the Alpaka Tunic from the last issue of Interweave Knits. I had pretty much decided, after my swatching exercise, to use Valley Yarns Stockbridge, which was the same fiber blend and yardage as the yarn called for in the pattern, but it was plyed so it’d have some durability. Then, my LYS had a sale on Berroco Ultra Alpaca which made it the same price to buy that yarn there, as to order Stockbridge from WEBS. So I threw a little support to the LYS. This is a very pretty dark navy heathered color that is not captured in the photo. So far this is being an easy knit, which is a nice offset to that edging…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2009 1:09 pm

    Can’t wait to see how the Alpaka Tunic comes out! What size are you making…and how much ease are you planning on?
    Oh, and.uhh, I noticed..are you in a blue mood lately? Everything ok over there? 🙂

  2. Mel permalink
    September 21, 2009 3:16 pm

    The edging on Fntasia is very pretty – well worth the slowing of time while you knit it.
    I love the colour of your Alpaka Tunic. Apart from the socks, your projects on the go are all large ones.

  3. September 25, 2009 1:43 pm

    I love the color yarn you chose for the tunic.
    The shawl is beautiful – I am sure that it will be worth the effort once it’s done. It’s too bad that most silvery greys don’t show up that way in photos.

  4. Jan permalink
    October 5, 2009 12:30 pm

    Edgings always take so long and eat more yarn than it seems like they should. Yours is beautiful, I look forward to seeing it blocked, all stretched out and transformed.
    Thanks for showing that lace transition. It’s amazing what dropping those rows do to the pattern.
    Congrats on scoring the yarn!

Leave a Reply

