Skip to content

Ice Fantasia

October 26, 2009
by

If you had never met Anne Hanson in person, and were guessing what she must be like based on having knit shawls she’s designed, you’d be forgiven for thinking she must be six feet tall. Ice Fantasia is my second Anne shawl, and it’s even more gigantic than Bee Fields was.

The wingspan on this lovely thing, after blocking, has got to be 8 or 9 feet, as the points hang nearly to the ground when it is draped across my shoulders.

It is BIG. And gorgeous.


The yarn is Knitpicks Gloss lace, in “sterling”, and I used 3 full skeins plus a small part of the fourth (I ran out of the third skein a few inches into the edging). The knitting took from July 5th to Sept 28th and then it took me nearly the whole month of October to find time to block it.

I was playing with my camera taking some macro pictures of it.

PS Anne is NOT six feet tall.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2009 2:02 pm

    Beautiful! Looks like another blue ribbon winner.

  2. October 26, 2009 5:22 pm

    It’s gorgeous!!! And I want your tshirt. ;o)

  3. Melanie permalink
    October 28, 2009 4:30 pm

    Wowza, what a beautiful piece of knitting! I love the macro photography.

  4. elizabeth S permalink
    October 30, 2009 2:06 am

    love the shawl I have looked at the design and it is on my to do list nice to know how big it became

  5. October 30, 2009 11:44 am

    Wow!

  6. Jan permalink
    November 1, 2009 9:44 pm

    The shawl is beautiful, made the more so by your exquisite knitting. Wow. Words fail.

  7. Sam permalink
    November 2, 2009 9:58 am

    Wow – this is gorgeous. You need to be sure to get that one out to be seen! 🙂

Leave a Reply

