Skip to content

Cambridge Cables

January 11, 2010
by

I am finally done with this sweater. Yay.

It actually turned out quite well despite all the gnashing of teeth and frogging of stitches.

It’s a little longer than I might have chosen, but it’s very soft and comfortable.

I whined at length last week about all the annoyances in the pattern, so I won’t whine anymore. I did have the sense to shorten the sleeves and also to skip the increases that begin below the elbow. Sorry, I use my hands, so no bell sleeves down to my knuckles.

I used just over 5 1/2 skeins of the Berella Muskoka, which is a superwash merino. Instead of blocking it wet, I decided to spin it in the dryer, to be sure that the fabric snugged up, and it came out plump and cuddly.

I have been going great guns spinning on my Philias Cadorette wheel. I started some merino/tussah on Friday night at spin group, and finished the bobbin yesterday afternoon. I am hoping for a three-ply worsted weight, we’ll see what I actually get…

The fiber is an Ashland Bay blend, and the colorway is called ‘rose quartz’ which is such a perfect name for the rose color, with the white silk and a little bit of blue running through it.
===========
Update to last week’s story: Philias Cadorette died in 1946 at the age of 63. By then, CPWs were not being made and sold anymore, so I wonder what he did in his shop during the last 10 or 15 years of his life. His wife Aurore lived to be over 90, and died in 1976.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2010 9:06 am

    Your spinning is fabulous! Oooooh, it’s so pretty, I just want to reach out and touch it! The sweater is a great color and fit for you – I love it!

  2. January 11, 2010 10:32 am

    You look wonderful in the sweater, great job! I agree with your sleeve mod, it’s much more realistic and useful to have a sleeve you don’t have to fold up out of the way. And still pretty, too.

  3. Gillian permalink
    January 11, 2010 12:04 pm

    Good for you on the sweater and the research. The sweater looks great!

  4. January 11, 2010 12:36 pm

    Your sweater looks gorgeous, I love the way you made the sleeves.

  5. January 11, 2010 1:48 pm

    Your wheel certainly seems happy to have found a good home. That bobbin is beautiful. So is your new sweater. Is your hair alot shorter or just look that way since it’s curled up?

  6. January 11, 2010 4:58 pm

    The sweater fits you perfectly–love the color, too!

  7. January 11, 2010 5:49 pm

    Fabulous shape…both you and the sweater!!!

  8. Melanie permalink
    January 12, 2010 10:52 am

    Another perfect fit! I like what you did with the sleeves.
    What a lucky wheel to have found a second life with you. It certainly looks like you’ve made friends.

  9. Roberta permalink
    January 14, 2010 6:18 pm

    Your sweater is beautiful and fits you just perfectly.

  10. January 19, 2010 3:45 pm

    The sweater looks fabulous on you…wonderful work! I found your blog when I was searching for info. St. Hyacinthe wheels. I am hoping to get one soon; after reading several bloggers’ reviews, I will definitely start my search. Happy spinning and knitting!

Leave a Reply

