Skip to content

Hats ahoy

February 3, 2010
by

Having gotten a haircut I now need to wear a completely different kind of hat, a poofy one that I can plop my hair into so that it won’t be flattened by a watch cap or blown by the wind. So we’re doing berets!

This is the Mystery Beret (or “Meret”) pattern by Wooly Wormhead (you can find a million of ’em on Ravelry), knit in the Araucania Aysen that I had left from my February Lady cardigan. It’s soft and poofy and comfortable, and I love the colors, and it got done really quickly. I did one full extra repeat of the 10-row pattern so that I’d get enough slouch.

I liked it so much I frogged a hat I’d made a couple of years ago out of Elsebeth Lavold Angora, and made a second one.

I knitted this on smaller needles (size 6) to get the angora yarn to hold its shape. I added the extra pattern repeat for extra slouch, and eliminated two plain-knit rows just before the beginning of the crown decreases so that I would not run out of yarn before I finished, and it worked out just right, and the fabric is firm and plush.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink
    February 3, 2010 10:14 pm

    Nice chapeaux! I want to see your new hair do.

  2. February 4, 2010 8:29 am

    yeah, me too.

Leave a Reply

