Skip to content

Blog? what blog? MS&W, and other stories

May 5, 2010
by

Oh yeah. Well. Lots of pretty things to show and some changing and rearranging to report.

The Kromski Prelude that appeared in October has gone to a new home, because shortly after I bought it, I also bought that antique flax wheel, and fell into an antique wheel rabbithole where I’m still rattling around to this day. I sold it at MS&W because all I want to do now is play with antique wheels. My Symphony will be with me forever, it’s a great spinner and a workhorse and my go-to wheel for plying, but I never really fell in love with the Prelude because I was so preoccupied. It deserves better.

I finished knitting some stuff but never really got it photographed. Hopefully that will be remedied, as one of the things Ravelry is good for is spurring me to photograph – those little blank squares with no photo for a project are strangely irritating to me.

I do have a lot of photos, despite the fact that the knitting content is sort of absent and there are only more skeins of the spinning you’ve already seen.

There are just too many photos for one entry. So first, Sheep and Wool.

It was hotter and more crowded than it’s ever been. I bought a couple of pretty things that of course have not been photographed yet. (Three Irish Girls and Serendipitous Ewe sock yarn, 8 ounces of turquoise BFL/tussah top, and an adorable little 3 pound silver Romney lamb fleece – fairly short staple but color, shine, and crimp to spare – I’d love to see the hogget fleece off that little guy.)
There were alpacas again. This guy and his friend were very talkative, making their little mews to one another and to us.

There were lots of sheep. This one had a particularly pretty face.

This pretty and unusual little wheel was sitting quietly outside a booth in one of the side buildings.

I noticed for the first time this year that Pat Russo’s Vermont spinning wheels are based upon the tension mechanism of the yellow Paradis Canadian production wheels of the 1920s and 30s.

This year I had the presence of mind to take pictures in the skein and garment building.
This was the best in the knitted shawls category.

I’m sure it’s very beautifully done and all, but its brownness put me off. I dislike brown. I mean no offense to the knitter who came away with a blue ribbon and a rosette.

This was the second prize winner in the knitted shawls category. Unfortunately it was difficult to see whether it was intricate or plain.

This was mine. From the display you would never be able to tell what it looked like. It is this.

It was the third prize winner in the knitted shawls category. Whereas a few years ago I would have been honored, this year I was sort of hurt. They had nothing but praise for the knitting and blocking, and it was huge and ornate and…. well, not brown. I don’t think I can do any better than this, as I don’t knit cobweb yarn. Maybe another year.

Someone submitted a very cute felting project.

And some friends of mine from our spinning group did very well indeed!

That last skein is fingering weight 4-ply cabled.

In keeping with my current obsession with antique wheels, especially Canadian ones, I had to admire the two refurbished antiques in the Merlin Tree booth, both of which were sold by about 9:30 Saturday morning.

That first one is a sibling to something you’ll see here in the next installment….

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2010 5:13 pm

    That basket of yarn is to DIE for!

  2. Jan permalink
    May 5, 2010 6:41 pm

    Thanks for the trip to MSW. I love it all. Your shawl is stunning. The judges missed the mark on that one!
    Thanks for the spinning wheel eye candy. I look forward to seeing your new beauties.

  3. Melanie permalink
    May 6, 2010 10:51 am

    Lovely photos and excellent commentary. Your shawl is spectacular but I guess you can never tell what will please the judges. I’m really looking forward to your next post.

Leave a Reply

