Skip to content

Rhinebeck 2012

October 23, 2012
by

I’m definitely out of the habit of bringing cameras to sheep fairs – I think I’ve posted so many photos over the years that the weight of a camera, not to mention the challenge of photographing things when jammed into a crowd, has made me glad to drop the plan.  I took a few photos this year with my phone, though, which might be fun.

The first one I took was of a Soay sheep, not something I’ve run across before.  Too bad it didn’t come out too well…

Emmy got a monkey in a palm tree from the balloon man.

We visited the Roosevelt estate, saw an exhibit of photos and audio, stopped by the gravesite, and looked at the outside of the house.

The weather was great this year, if a little warm, and the row of trees right at the nexus of the fairgrounds (near the food) was beautiful.  I felt happy every time I looked at them.

I bought just a few things.  Soay roving from Spirit Trail (it seems to have been a day for running across Soay stuff), an eight-ounce hank of pretty yak/merino/silk spinning fiber from the Sheep Shed, a four-ounce braid of merino/silk spinning fiber from the Tsarina of Tsocks, and some things from Lisa Souza:  one hank of cashmere/silk yarn in the Casbah colorway (must become something to go around my neck), four ounces of BFL fiber in Joseph’s Coat for something bright, and a skein of Sock! in North Sea for socks for Emmy.

It was a good weekend.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    October 24, 2012 11:06 am

    Love the update, even with the camera phone pics! Emmy sure has grown!

  2. June permalink
    October 24, 2012 6:42 pm

    I have to agree with Jen!!

Leave a comment